Confessions of a “Closet AlDub Fangirl”

Sssshhhhh….. I have a confession to make and this is gonna be a pretty big deal for me!

This I have to tell you guys (whoever gets to read this), hey…. I’m a fangirl now! And it’s my first time… of a little more than three decades of living a rather monotonous life. And oh!, nobody knows that I have joined the bandwagon called “AlDub”- just you and me…..

Now that I have vent a secret out, I feel incredibly proud of myself that I was able to open up (at least to someone I don’t know personally). It’s not that I don’t trust people close to me but it’s just me – I guess.

Call me uninteresting but I have always been withdrawn and reserved all my life! Ask me about my social life…. you’ll definitely get a passive response. I am not an introvert, just so you know, but I have always cherished my time alone, whether at home or just window shopping.

The time social media has become an “in-thing” all over the internet, I only signed up on Facebook (just to stay connected to only some I know) and maintained just a few friends list.(by the way I used to own an internet café and managed it myself until I decided to work as an online freenlancer – I have to note though that being online on a day to day basis does not necessarily mean a social media addict). To date, I haven’t even updated my account – boring me! Hey! The television – I love though! It keeps me relaxed and energized.

Now, the fangirl thing……..

I have always been a loyal Eat Bulaga viewer since I can remember. I’ve seen people come and go on the show and almost always every episode I have religiously watched particularly the JFAAFJ segment. I have always loved the hilarity and spontaneity of JOWAPAO. That epic July 16, 2015 was no exception. I saw it – the elusive organic smile of Yaya Dub upon seeing the dashing Alden Richards on the other side of the screen. I knew there was the unexplained charisma right there and then. And that kept me glued on the TV screen until to this day.

Not realizing, I started getting preoccupied with this couple – ALDUB! They are phenomenal, yes! But I was in denial…. I can never be a fangirl at my age! There were several love teams that came before AlDub but I never had this admiration. Wow! This couple must be something. Admittedly, I wanted more from them so I had my twitter account set up (for the first time) latter part of August.

Learning the ropes then, I just logged in regularly to see updates without actually participating. I didn’t know how to react and interact – the typical ignorance in me (not being a social media person). Five months on twitter, I’m still even way too shy to ask people to follow me….LOL! But I have improved – been quite semi-active sharing my thoughts and opinions since Tamang Panahon…. I’d like to take this as an achievement though! Things that got me like in a culture shock…bashing, negatrons, beastmode, etc… I haven’t come across those in my own little world.

I can never be obsessed but why is my wallpaper on my lappy ALDUB? I have Alden Richards’ pictures on my phone and Maine Mendoza’s too. Noooooo…. But I have repeatedly watched KS replays on Whitedove’s You Tube uploads – literally RIP replay button, my bad! The TP episode I’ve seen like a hundred times (a bit exaggerated though)! It was a magical and enchanting event that led to a historical EB’s all time high TV viewers’ ratings and record-breaking 41 million tweets. And hey, when have I become fascinated with the color yellow? As of late, several of my stuff has hints of Yaya’s favorite color.

I keep denying that I am now a fangirl but why could I not resist buying magazines with AlDub on the cover? I don’t have a complete collection though (just couldn’t find copies). I hate TVCs interrupting my favorite TV shows but the presence of AlDub’s commercials changed my perception. Noooo…. I’m still not a fangirl!!! Promise! But hey, I literally bought almost every product they are endorsing….if that’s not enough, why have I come to love their dubsmash songs?

I am into alternative rock songs but why have I come to appreciate a country song like God Gave Me You? It was on repeat in my iPod until I have learnt by heart every pause and line where Alden choked his tears back while singing the song during the Dalaw Mansyon episode …! His double platinum album – will remain to be sealed as part of my collection. I get to hear the songs on my spotify though…..Oh, by the way, it was my first time (in like over 10 years) to see a movie (MBL) in theatre and all by myself.

I get giddy seeing them together… at the sight of Tisoy….. I get overjoyed with the supposed real life love story and praying for them to end up together until they’re 70…. Or more! Why do I get hurt with all negative news I hear? And with the recent interview of Maine, I got a tad bit affected. Nevertheless, that doesn’t make me less adore them both. I’m resisting the urge to stalk… need I or do I have to do it?

Hey…… it’s our secret, I’m shy but is this a confirmation me being a closet fangirl?

Author: lexirose7350

I am not a wife. I am not a mother. I am a just a sister with low self-esteem trying to build a world of my own. I always believe that there is something out there dreamy and fanciful no matter how rude life is. Emotional by heart, I can put up a tough front when necessary. I am not a very outspoken person but can be very conversational when in the mood. I'd like to believe that sharing my thoughts (in a platform i am most comfortable) would at least give me the freedom to express my suppressed emotions long been held in me. Writing is cathartic. A good way to release my thoughts. I value my solitude!

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a “Closet AlDub Fangirl””

  1. You’re noy alone! Just like you, it’s my first time to be a fangirl too. I am not really into celebs but then Maine came and the unsual segment in Eat Bulaga came, (problem solving) then July 16! I was watching that too. Haha. Anyways, I feel you! I look forward on your next posts. God bless, ka-Aldub fan! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

