GETTING TO KNOW EACH OTHER (GTKEO)

Hhhhmmmm…. Getting to know each other!!! This has got me really thinking!?!?!?

The phrase is actually all over the Twitterverse for like a few days now and why not? It was Alden Richards who uttered these words…… who can say these better and create abuzz than him? Do I want to create a hype out of such phrase? Of course not…. I was just baffled crazy the moment I heard him say it at a recent presscon for his product endorsement (Neozep).IMG_20160307_055845

It was like seriously!?!?!?!? Even his sister who was seated next to him displayed a tad bit “seriously kuya!” face…… Okay! That has got me smirking, too.

I want to be clear about this…… there’s nothing effing wrong with GTKEO! Who says it’s a cliché? Yes, it is but it’s something integral in any relationship. Now, going back to Alden Richards… who got to raise their eyebrows when he confidently answered “we are still in the getting to know stage (something to that effect)……” in referral to his relationship with Maine?

Let’s do the science and mathematics of Getting To Know….

When there’s too much clinginess and/or skinship going on, do you still consider it GETTING TO KNOW stage? Or is it just mere human nature? I get that sharing of utensils/foods may be the initial level of GETTING TO KNOW but to “lick” clean your thumb you used to wipe off morsel from her mouth is perhaps to the highest level. My guy friends never ever do that to me…. Oh! Coz they are not Alden and I am not Maine.

When he could say “no” to a possible short hair cut on her “girl-friend’s” locks…. When he could freely “dictate” a pony tail or high bun because he prefers looking at her with such hairstyle… when he could fix her bra strap without restraint on national TV…. Is it GETTING TO KNOW to the 2nd, 3rd or 4th level? My ex-bf used to admire my long tresses though. Envy not, you are not Alden, by the way, and I am not Maine.

A peck on the cheek or forehead is but okay though for friends. So when he fearlessly kissed her on the lips, is it GETTING TO KNOW to the nth power level? Or perhaps, were they just playing around for the satisfaction of the viewers?… How about the leg wrestling behind the couch? Was it a kiddie fun or a GETTING TO KNOW gesture? Only them both could do that with flying colors. We are not Alden and Maine.

When roughly everything they both have are for couples – from simple things to more valuable stuffs… (I don’t need to mention the valuable ones though). Did he rent a private plane and fly all the way to… (Boracay?) and back the next day?… When he puts over the top effort just to please her on her special day! He did spend a fortune just to shower her with lavishness including a rented (errr…… I may be mistaken – borrowed) yacht and other surprises like a man so madly in love. So, is this GETTING TO KNOW to what exponential level? Only Alden could justify all of these!

He seemed extremely comfortable with her family (even calling her mother mommy) to the surprise of the hosts around…and oh, yes even the nephew was amazingly “at ease” with him…. this is GETTING TO KNOW at its best! Sorry guys, you are not Alden.

The “E” gift… Whether there was something or nothing in the box, it’s still something to look forward to and be puzzled about. He doesn’t have to say “over thinking kills” because he opted it to be seen by viewers. I can only assume everybody knows what that cute trinket box he gave her. The mere fact that he already had it ready all this time, does that mean GETTING TO KNOW  “Pre-Engagement” stage? Don’t be envious guys, you are not Alden!

On second thought………. We really can never be Alden and Maine… you and I will never be like them. They are the most genuine people I’ve watched on TV. I never ever had fangirling moments in my life until AlDub/MaiChard was born. They are beautiful people and, without any doubt, they  radically changed the Philippine noon time television landscape. They are who/what they are… in time, yes maybe in time they will eventually open their hearts to AlDub/MaiChard Nation!

Getting to know is a lifelong process though……. perhaps until you are old and grey. You may be in a romantic relationship yet still discovering new things about each other. It’s a never ending pursuit. However, it’s not the length of time being in a certain phase of a relationship. Not even the time you spend being with each other. It is just a matter of accepting and loving his/her warts and all even at the early stage of a particular relationship.

Being in a relationship/commitment is a gamble… you win some, you lose some. You may never know what’s in store for you unless you take the risk.

Author: lexirose7350

I am not a wife. I am not a mother. I am a just a sister with low self-esteem trying to build a world of my own. I always believe that there is something out there dreamy and fanciful no matter how rude life is. Emotional by heart, I can put up a tough front when necessary. I am not a very outspoken person but can be very conversational when in the mood. I'd like to believe that sharing my thoughts (in a platform i am most comfortable) would at least give me the freedom to express my suppressed emotions long been held in me. Writing is cathartic. A good way to release my thoughts. I value my solitude!

Leave a Reply

