DILEMMA

GERD (acid reflux) has always been and will always be my biggest nightmare.

 It may not be as fatal as any other disease I know, but swear, it’s effing “killing” me. I tell you, acid reflux is not just a simple hyperacidity problem – it comes with “complicated” symptoms that may just cause me to lose my sanity. ***sounds exaggs*** Restless nights are just the tip of the iceberg.

 Those sleepless nights, I would spend tossing and turning/getting up and back in my bed because of extreme discomfort. I cringe and most of the time, I cry! In desperation I guess, but more of a coping mechanism!?!?!?

The gassy feeling is made worse by frequent belching with a sour aftertaste, leaving a burning pain in my gullet/throat. I just hate that feeling!!! The few sleeps I would get would even be interrupted by palpitation and shortness of breath. I usually gasp for air and it actually spells S U C K S!!! It’s even aggravated further by constricted nostrils.

I have to avoid (as much as possible) vomiting just so I could prevent stomach-acid damage in my esophagus.  Otherwise, it would mean a few days “vacay” in a hospital bed and a few months of medication. I even had a month long cough that was only treated with a proton pump inhibitor (PPI). Such is life!

 Pretty creepy, but that’s acid invading my system guys…So, whoever invented/formulated lanzoprazole and domperidone (though both meds cost a pretty penny) is/are (a)genius/es!!! I thank God for you!!! You know who you are…you are heaven sent!!!

 

 

Author: lexirose7350

I am not a wife. I am not a mother. I am a just a sister with low self-esteem trying to build a world of my own. I always believe that there is something out there dreamy and fanciful no matter how rude life is. Emotional by heart, I can put up a tough front when necessary. I am not a very outspoken person but can be very conversational when in the mood. I'd like to believe that sharing my thoughts (in a platform i am most comfortable) would at least give me the freedom to express my suppressed emotions long been held in me. Writing is cathartic. A good way to release my thoughts. I value my solitude!

Leave a Reply

